Got Purpose?

~This blog post is dedicated to Norma Terrill, my grandmother, my inspiration~

Grandma Norma

My grandmother passed away shortly ago. Ever since, I have been thinking about life, death and the space in-between. My grandmother is a guiding light in my life and career. I wrote a poem at her memorial service, and would like to humbly share to help others understand her life, and the inspiration for pieces of my own….

Morning sun, early dawn dew

Norma’s up baking, dishes done too

A calming smile shines on her face

In her own time, going at nature’s pace

Out in the garden, whistling and weeding

At afternoon’s break, she’s reclined and reading

Taking a pause, embracing Elmwood’s enchanting glory

There’s no doubt that our beloved Norma lived a great story

No dragon slaying, or great fortunes of gold

 Yet, kindness and love were carefully sowed

Laughter and care from the water pail flowed

Over the seeds of relationships piled in mounds

Then something miraculous peppered the grounds

Family and friends sprouted full in color

They rose, they grew, they supported one another

They took a moment to face to the sun

And thanked nature and God for sharing such a special one

Although gone in body, we are never alone

For look at all the love she has sown

We will continue to see her in various ways

From a dragonfly to the sun’s rays

 An owls hoot, or music a spring bird plays

We honor her memory in all that we do

A life well lived, sharing life’s lessons too,

Here’s to you gram, we all love you.

 

I did my best to capture her spirit in words, but no many how many I put down on paper, I will never be able to do it justice. I was captured by her kindness. She rarely spoke ill of anyone if at all, she would just do things without complaining, like dishes and gardening ect. And I knew inherently that she was loved fiercely and widely by many, but it caught me in awe when the church that I had visited all my childhood years, echoing in low attendance was filled to the brim. Every single row. Not out of courtesy either. People who came were touched, inspired, impacted by her kind soul, humble nature, and heart of pure gold.

 

Like I said, this made me wonder about life. It’s just like her too, giving me simple lessons along the way, not having to tell me they were lessons or using words to do so. So here we go…

 

I reflected how easy it is to get swallowed up by the mirage of “success”. Whether that be by getting married, buying a house and having children, or reaching a promotion in your career. We are but a fish in the sea of ladder rungs in societal success. It is easier to swim in the same direction as the school of them. Yet, going against the current is creativity.

 

Life isn’t tasks to complete, bills to pay, things to get. We all know this, but how many of us live it?

 

As I read my grandmother’s eulogy and felt the warmth of every person there I realized that life is about the relationships. Not just saying that because it’s what we should say, but living it. Each day I wake up with a renewed purpose. I seek to form or strengthen relationships with family, friends, colleagues, and continuously make small improvements personally and professionally.

 

When my grandmother was passing away, people flooded her room to say goodbye to her. I spent time with her relatives, and friends. He sister told me stories of them as kids, and how they would be involved in the community, and would go to a meeting, and their mother would say “Just don’t run for the board”, and my grandma would come back elected president and her sister treasurer. She did what needed to be done to help others.

 

In college, I took a “Death & Dying” class, it was lively. Ha. Anything? Okay, well what I gleamed from that class is that so many of us are afraid of death, even to talk of it. During the class assignments, we planned our own funeral. Morbid? Yes. Humbling? Very much so.

 

However, I argue that people are more afraid to live. Truly live. To take risks. To cross the line of possibility. My grandmother inspired me to do so. If as if she knew I would need wisdom from her to carry on her legacy, and build my own, to truly live life to the fullest and get every loving ounce squeezed out of it…in her address book she would cut out newspaper clippings, so as she would flip through while doing Christmas cards, she would get a nice surprise, or a reminder of a recipe, or of an honor roll announcement from one of her grandchildren. My mom shared that she had a poem in there and it was titled “Grandma’s Pearls of Wisdom”. It is a familiar poem,  and realizing that she left me a poem as I left her one, to help me carry on, live on, have purpose, I accept the challenge.

 

To My Granddaughter…

Grandma’s

Pearls of Wisdom

By Becky Netherland

I’ve traveled paths you’ve yet to walk

Learned lessons old and new

And now this wisdom of my life

I’m blessed to share with you

Let kindness spread like sunshine

Embrace those who are sad

Respect their dignity, give them joy

And leave them feeling glad

Forgive those who might hurt you

And though you have your pride

Listen closely to their viewpoint

Try to see the other side

Walk softly when you’re angry

Try not to take offense

Invoke your sense of humor

Laughter’s power is immense!

Express what you are feeling

Your beliefs you should uphold

Don’t shy away from what is right

Be courageous and be bold

Keep hope right in your pocket

It will guide you day by day

Take it out when it is needed

When it’s near, you’ll find a way

Remember friends and family

Of which you are a precious part

Love deeply and love truly

Give freely from your heart

The world is far from perfect

There’s conflict and there’s strife

But you still can make a difference

By how you live your life

And so I’m very blessed to know

The wonders you will do

Because you are my granddaughter

And I believe in you

~Keep on Caring 

Leave a comment